Tags

, , ,

Not exactly healthy, but who cares?

I have a friend named Emma and her little boy Jack coming over for a play date this afternoon. I’ve decided that I want to make something quick, easy and delicious for us moms to snack on while the boys chase each other and tear up my livingroom.

I was googling doughnut recipes and came across this one on the Jamie Oliver message boards. I don’t know what compelled me to go to the JO site (I’m not usually a fan of his recipes), but I’m sure glad I did! This doughnut recipe had a few glowing reviews, and I’m going to test it out in a few minutes. It’s by a woman¬†named ¬†Tanya. Apparently the recipe has been in her family for years, so it must be good!

This recipe doesn’t contain yeast, so you don’t have to wait around for it to rise for hours on end. Good news for someone in a hurry! These are not like Krispy Kremes. They are light and delicious. Let’s go find out!

Tanya’s Doughnuts

6oz self raising flour
1 1/2oz cooking fat
1 1/2oz caster sugar
pinch of salt
1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
cooking fat or oil for frying

Prepare pan of hot cooking fat or oil.
Cream the fat, sugar and salt. Add the egg and clear. Stir in the milk, add the sieved flour and mix lightly to a smooth clear dough.
Turn out on to a floured board, roll out fairly thick (approx. 1/4inch) and cut into rounds. Stamp out small round holes in the centre of each and place in pan. Turn over when half cooked and cook the other side.
Dredge or roll in caster sugar.

The fat must be hot (approx. 260-370F). To test the temperature (if a thermometer is not available) a cube of bread will become golden brown in one minute.
Frying at too low a temperature produces greasy, heavy doughnuts.
If smoke rises from the fat it is too hot. This not only discolours the fat but also detracts from the flavour and appearance of the finished doughnuts.
Leave the doughnuts to cool slightly before rolling in caster sugar. If rolled immediately the hot fat melts the sugar.

Update

I tried the recipe this afternoon. They were good, but missing something spectacular. When mixing the dough (I used my food processor), it only takes a few minutes. I had to add about 1/2 cup more flour than the recipe called for to get a workable dough. They cooked up in about 2 minutes, and I made 18 donut holes from the dough. They barely lasted 10 minutes between me and Emma. They were delicious with spiced apple and camomile tea!

I rolled them in caster sugar, but suggest cinnamon sugar or icing sugar. Feel free to also add vanilla extract to the dough to give it a bit more flavor.

Sugared Donut Holes

